An anthology of Filipino poetry by 10 grand winners of the biennial Gawad Maningning Miclat from 2003 to 2021 titled “Ningning at Liwanag” is now available in the market.

Maningning Miclat

Published by MMAFI and Erehwon Artworld Corporation, the hardbound, full-color book with Maningning Miclat’s painting as cover and 10 photographs by poet and writer Mario I. Miclat to mark the 10 poetry collections, received a Publication Grant for 2023 from the National Book Development Board (NBDB). Book and cover design is by veteran artist and poet Fidel Rillo.

The 10 collections are by Joselito D. Delos Reyes (Ang Lungsod Namin at Iba Pang mga Tula, 2003), Joseph de Luna Saguid (Pagsilip sa Bunganga ng Araw, 2005), T. Delos Reyes (Bilang Babae, 2007), Kristian Sendon Cordero (Labí, 2009), Enrique S. Villasis (Agua, 2011), Phillip Yerro Kimpo (Hanggitna, 2013), Reparado Galos III (Mga Pagtitig Mula sa Dalampasigan, 2015), Kid Orit (Para Kay P, 2017), Ralph Fonte (Mga Alimbukay ng Agwat, 2019), and Genesis Historillo (Ang Hugis ng Pandemya, 2021).

National Artist for Literature Virgilio S. Almario wrote in his Introduction to the book:

“Ang rebeldeng gampanin ng pagtula sa koleksiyon ng mga nagwagi sa Timpalak Maningning Miclat ay isang misyon na binuksan ni Balagtas noong ika-19 siglo at pinag-alab ng pagsulat nina Rizal, Plaridel, Bonifacio, at Jacinto. Sinasabing naglaho ito at napangibabawan ng amerikanisasyon nitóng ika-20 siglo. Posibleng napangibabawan; ngunit hindi naglaho. Ang diwang mapagpalayà sa Himagsikang 1896 ay buháy at higit na masugid magsuri, masikap magbigay ng makabuluhang patnubay, at tumutuklas ng mga mabisàng paraan at anyo ng pahayag upang matigib sa bagong kamaláyan ang pusò’t isip ng madlang Filipino.”

(“The rebellious role of poetry in the collection of the Maningning Miclat Award winners is a mission initiated by Balagtas in the 19th century and heightened by the writings of Rizal, Plaridel, Bonifacio and Jacinto. It was said that this faded away when Americanization became dominant in the 20th century. It may have been dominated but it did not fade away. The spirit of freedom of the 1896 Revolution is alive and even more ardent in introspection, in the endeavor to give meaningful guidance, and in discovering effective means and ways of expression to fill the hearts and minds of the Filipino masses with new awareness.”)

The 10 outstanding poetry collections have been meticulously and judiciously chosen through the years by the competition jury composed of the best and multi-awarded poets in Filipino, including Teo Antonio, Rebecca and Roberto Añonuevo, Joey Baquiran, Luna Sicat Cleto, Michael M. Coroza, Ruth Elynia Mabanglo, Rogelio Mangahas (+), Vim Nadera and Benilda S. Santos.

Maningning Miclat, a Filipina, published author, trilingual poet, prize-winning artist, translator and art teacher passed away at the tender age of 28 on September 29, 2000. Her legacy lives on in the memories of those who share her passion, her art. This is the guiding force behind the Maningning Miclat Art Foundation which encourages young poets and painters to hone their craft and to keep on with their art.

The book is available at FEU Tams Bookstore.

Follow Me

Like it? Share with your friends!


Writer, Wanderer, Child of God


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Contact Us


Enjoy this blog? Please spread the word :)

Follow by Email