VIA CRUCIS is latin for the Way of The Cross.  It is a Catholic Holy Week tradition that commemorates the Passion of Jesus and held on Good Friday before 3 in the afternoon.  There are a total 14 stations and each station is marked with images of passion and death of Christ.

The 14 stations are:

Jesus is condemned to death
Jesus carries his cross
Jesus falls the first time
Jesus meets his mother
Simon of Cyrene helps Jesus carry the cross
Veronica wipes the face of Jesus
Jesus falls the second time
Jesus meets the women of Jerusalem
Jesus falls the third time
Jesus is stripped of his garments
Jesus is nailed to the cross
Jesus dies on the cross
Jesus is taken down from the cross
Jesus is laid in the tomb

VIA CRUCIS is also practiced after the exposition of the Blessed Sacrament on Holy Thursday and during the Visita Iglesia.  The Good Friday Way of the Cross is also called as the GRAND VIA CRUCIS.

Follow Me

Like it? Share with your friends!


Writer, Wanderer, Child of God


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *