District represents a fraction of a bigger whole, which is like the EP compared to a full-length album.  This is a short burst, a sprint rather than a long run. This is also our way of shaking things up.” Says Yael, lead vocals for Sponge Cola

This coming November 9 (Friday) 7pm, SPONGE COLA will launch their latest album – DISTRICT, at the Eastwood Central Plaza featuring performances from some of the country’s most promising young bands Never The Strangers and She’s Only Sixteen. These bands, together with Sponge Cola, prove that indeed the future of OPM is bright.

The EP features the hit song XGF a collaboration between Chito Miranda of Parokya Ni Edgar and Los Magno which topped the www.mymusicstore charts for six weeks.

District contains songs that tackle a variety of themes – former love (XGF), magical nights (Mahaba Pa Ang Gabi), perfect timing (Fireworks), opportunists (Pick Your Poison), and love (Twelve).  The EP highlights the versatility of the Diamond Recording Band  as performers, musicians, and songwriters.

SPONGE COLA is a four piece OPM Rock band composed of Yael on vocals, Armo on lead guitar, Gosh on bass and TedMark on drums.  They have recently attained a series of international victories this year, which include sold-out performances all over Asia and the Middle East, represented the Philippines in the Du World Music Festival in Dubai, and its much-talked about performance at Beale Street Music Festival in Memphis as the only Filipino band to be featured alongside Al Green, Evanescence, Pitt Bull and Wiz Khalifa, among many other international artists.

Follow Me

Like it? Share with your friends!


Writer, Wanderer, Child of God


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Enjoy this blog? Please spread the word :)

Follow by Email